WhatsApp caused a massive virtual meltdown with its announcement of the new privacy policies. The Online fury delayed the implementation of the said policy. The company spent weeks trying to solve things and not worsen them. However, it just revealed that users would have to accept the guidelines by the May 15 deadline.
According to TechCrunch, WhatsApp has been emailing its merchant partners regarding these policies. The emails state that it will slowly ask its users to adapt to the privacy policies for the app’s full functionality. The email also had pointed out a WhatsApp FAQ page title, “What happens on the effective date?”
The FAQ’s answer says that it won’t delete the accounts, but there will be some usage limitations. WhatsApp wrote, “If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.”
Users will be considered inactive if they do not accept the privacy policies by the deadline, they will be regarded as inactive. According to the current guidelines, an inactive account is deleted after 120 days of inactivity. The deletion is done to maintain security, limit data retention, and protect users’ privacy. The content stored in the local drive of the device will remain until the application is deleted. The stored content will reappear when the application is reinstalled with a valid WhatsApp account.
On Thursday, Whatsapp announced about displaying a banner in the app with detailed policies. WhatsApp says that people can take their own time to read the guidelines. The company added, “Eventually, we’ll start reminding people to review and accept these updates to keep using WhatsApp.”
Be First to Comment